Luis Terraza’s Hacienda: “Las Carolinas”

13 Aug

The Coach House “La Cochera”

One of the most unexpected rewards of my trip to Chihuahua, Mexico has been a visit to “Las Carolinas”; a Hacienda owned and built by despot: Luis Terrazas of revolutionary era fame.  The site truly brought home the extent of the wealth of the man who exclaimed: “Chihuahua es mía” Chihuahua is mine.

The rear view of the Hacienda

I don’t recall what my visions of a Mexican Hacienda were at the time.  All I know is that the reality did not match my expectations.

As I walked the grounds and viewed the splendor all I could think was: “No wonder the Revolution”.

Prima Elisa

9 Responses to “Luis Terraza’s Hacienda: “Las Carolinas””

  1. Debbie Rede Lopez Pimentel August 14, 2010 at 1:27 AM #

    Beautiful, such Grandor. It must have been breath taking, in it’s day.

  2. Maximo Alvarado November 4, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

    Hi thats great fine so beautyful do you have other pictures that you would be welling to share. I am doing my family tree and my mother was Ana Lardizabal Terrazas i have the book The life of Luis Terrazas it is very informative so now im looking for any photos if you can help i would so much appreciate it. Thank You for that info you posted. Maximo

    • Martha Alvarado Heisler December 1, 2010 at 7:11 PM #

      Maximo..I am looking for my maternal great great grandfather who was born at the Hacienda(worked as a cowboy)-Marcial Mendoza, he married Refugio Estrada Fresas. I would love to have info on them…any info on workers names? I would appreciate any info you would like to share, Martha

    • Maria Marquez June 4, 2012 at 8:52 AM #

      Maximo, hello my name is Maria Luisa Marquez Lardizabal, I noticed your mother is Ana Lardizabal Terrazas, sister of my great father Agustin Lardizabal Terrazas, may you have information regarding our families, I appreciatte it, I’m doing research about it.

      • george hirsch November 11, 2012 at 8:26 PM #

        i may have something about the terrazas my great grdfather knew don luis terrazas

    • La Prima Elisa June 4, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

      Hola Maximo: Sorry i overlooked your comment. Hope this gets to you. and yes there are other pictures I am willing to share.–Elisa

      • maria marquez November 17, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

        George, Prima Elisa, hello again, may you have comments or photographs regarding Lardizabal members, I appreciatte your communications.
        Maria

  3. george hirsch November 17, 2012 at 3:33 PM #

    what i came across in an uncles basement is a family tree for my irigoyen and legarreta side of the family it goes up to my grdmother and on the terrazas side one of the names is a glafira terrazas another one with a date on it is refugio terrazas from1851-1883 and a fuctuoso t born21-jan-1827 if i can help you in any way contact me

  4. Antonio Perales del Hierro August 2, 2013 at 11:59 PM #

    Maximo: I like your fotos of the Terrazas Hacienda. I appreciate your characterization of don Luis as a despot. Funny thing, between bisinessmen and despots the difference is often a mere few degrees. There is an upper class Chihuahuan myth no doubt promulgated by the Terrazas family about don Luis “facing down” my tio abuelo politico Pancho Villa, but I never encounter the details of that ricacho face-saving mentira. To Maria Marquez Lardizabal I comment: The Larizabal, Terrazas and Hierro (My clan) are related–Look up the Carolina Tomkins Gomez del Barrio website, maybe you have family there also. These are families which have known each other for centuries. Do check out my blog XLOWRIDER TIMES PANCHO VILLA which is like no other. Un saludo cordial.

Leave a comment