How it all started

28 Feb

In 1989 I embarked on a family search which started in Southwest Texas, and took me across the border to Ojinaga, Cuchillo Parado, and Chihuahua City.  Little did I dream that I would discover connections to so many of descendants of La Junta (so named for the joining of the Rio Grande and Conchos, which join at Ojinaga, Chihuahua, Mexico.)  Eventually my search for descendants of my grandfather’s siblings resulted in a database of over 20,000 people, of which 4,000 are extended family members.

After visiting La Junta for the first time, I wondered what would impel people to settle in such a barren unforgiving land.  History and genealogy going hand-in-hand ,  I hit the books and discovered a rich history, not found in classroom text books.

Space does not allow for a full account of my travels; What I am aiming at now is connecting with members of my extended La Junta tribe.

If you are a descendent of any of the families listed below, I would love to hear from you.

Acosta, Alvarez, Brito, Carnero, Carrasco, Castillo, DeAnda, Dutchover,  Evaro, Flores,  Heredia, Leaton, Levario,  Lujan, Mendoza, Miller, Murto,  Ramirez, Sanchez, Spencer,  Zoza

Elisa, La Prima

9 Responses to “How it all started”

  1. Elida Tobar March 26, 2010 at 3:58 AM #

    Hi Elisa,
    I just came across your site. I’m happy to see you are still working on the family genealogy. This is a nice site.

  2. Victor Barreras June 11, 2010 at 8:16 PM #

    Hello Prima Elisa, I just wanted to know if we are connected. My grandpa was David Lopez Barreras from Marfa Texas Born in 1900. He married my grandma Soledad Rede Villa whom also became a barreras. I’m not sure who grandpa Davids father was and who his father was but I do know they were from the same town called Marfa in Texas. My grandma Soledad’s mother was Alejandra Rede And her dad was Jesus Rede Villa. I may not be clear on the last names because I don’t have the info in front of me but could you please get back to me on this? I would also like to know what kind of indian blood I may have, I found out so far through my grandma Soledad that I may have navaho indian from the reservations in New Mexico.

  3. Laura June 1, 2011 at 1:26 AM #

    Hello Elisa, love your site! I had the privilege of speaking with Enrique Mardrid via phone. I was born in Fort Stockton, according to my research my family was from La Junta.

    My maternal great,great grandmother was Nieves Carrasco who was born about 1852 in Julimes, Chihuahua.

    She married Cayetano Vegil and somehow ended up in Fort Stockton where their family grew.

    Does the Carrasco last name make us related? Where can I find the database of 20,000 people?

    -Laura

  4. Catherina DeAnda September 22, 2011 at 5:34 PM #

    Where is the contact information?

  5. Jose De Anda September 22, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    I am Jose De Anda.
    My father is Macario De Anda, born in 1927. No middle name. He was born in San Antonio, TX and raised in San Angelo by his grandmother. He has a twin named Author who worked in Chicago and retired from Marshall Fields in the 1980s. It is an upscale dept store. He also had four more brothers who may still be in Texas. If I recall correctly, my grandmother’s maiden name was Caldron.

    We are part Apache and recently have seen three De Anda native American women being sought by the US Gov for money owned to them from whatever was mined from New Mexico.

    Keep up the good work and please continue to add to your site.

    Jose

  6. Teresa Simpson August 12, 2012 at 9:35 PM #

    My Mother’s family name was Levario and part of her history included Carrasco’s. I am so excited to have come upon this site.

    Thank you,
    Teresa Simpson

  7. Monica June 19, 2013 at 9:13 PM #

    Hello,

    My Mother’s maternal family is Acosta from Ojinaga, and presidio area. My 2nd great grandmother is Dorotea Canero Acosta born in 1829ish. She married Marcelo Dominguez in Ojinaga in 1854. Are either of these names in your family tree?

    Monica

  8. Raul Flores July 17, 2013 at 5:02 PM #

    Dona Elisa, my name is Raul Flores. Son of Cruz G. Flores, born in Grandfalls,Tx. Raised in the Pecos, Barstow,Tx. areas. He was one of fifteen to 18 children, yes, of Angel Flores from Ojinaga. I have his old ‘blue card, not green, which he was issued when in crossed the U.S. at the Ojinaga-Presidio border, I suspect? I l was born and live in Dallas, Tx. I am very interesting learning more of my grandfather’s family in Ojinaga or contacting some distance relatives? I was also made aware by one uncle, that the Flores were relating to the Spencers of Ojinaga through marriage. Any information or suggesting to leads, would be appreciated. Thank you!

  9. Ann Garrie March 31, 2014 at 9:07 PM #

    Dona Elisa my father is Ascencion “Lujan” Gallardo. His family lived in Marfa, TX. My great great grandmother Paubla Sanchez was brought from Spain to Ojinaga, Mexico when she was 9 yes old. I don’t know when the Lujan-Gallardo marriage happened. Some other place names are El Povo,Redford,& Shafter TX.

Leave a Reply

