Additional Names of Interest

7 Mar


Photo By David Santiago

In addition to the surnames  in my personal family tree,  I have compiled a database of  over 20,000 family surnames from the Ojinaga and Cuchillo Parado tribes.

The earlier dates of birth range from the late 1700’s to 1900.  Later birth dates are from 1902 to 1912.  Many individuals are descendants of those who fled across the American border to Presidio, Texas during the Mexican Revolution.

By the way,  not far into my research I learned that the Juarez, Mata, Zubiatte, Ramirez, Morales, and Navarette families are all particular to Cuchillo Parado.  Consequently, whenever I perused through many documents, I knew without further research that I was looking at Cuchillo Parado data.

I have an extensive file and a 1833 census to go by.   I welcome  any questions and would appreciate your comments.

Elisa

4 Responses to “Additional Names of Interest”

  1. Elida Tobar March 26, 2010 at 4:12 AM #

    Elisa,
    I’ve never done any research in Mexico. I’ve been researching in the Archives Library in Alpine at Sul Ross University. Do they have Mexico’s Census? All I have found is the Church records so far. Where did you find the 1833 Census?

  2. Jerry Lujan May 3, 2010 at 6:01 PM #

    Primita Elisa,

    I finally got a chance to navigate your blog. I am impressed! I have been very busy. I have some stories to share, but do not know how to post them in a section that is relevant. I have some unrelated stores, not necessarily connected to familia, directly, but to Big Bend history. That, however, in some way will always connect and be relevant to familia anyway. Please call me 505-203-7609

  3. rick muniz January 23, 2012 at 7:30 AM #

    MY GRAND FATHER WAS FROM CUCHIO PARADO BORN IN 1877 HIS NAME WAS ENRIQUE MUNIZ HE WAS MARRIED TO my grandmother VIDALA JUAREZ MUNIZ UNTILL SHE PASSED , do not know what year ! but i beliveve he re married to a lady name juana , would greatly appreciate any info or records please e-mail me at rmtm51@aol.com. My grandmother VIDALA IS THE SISTER OF FERMINA JUAREZ ORTEGA .

  4. Raul Araujo Barrera February 17, 2012 at 12:43 PM #

    Elisa, what a great service you are providing for us. We are looking for ties to our family in the La Junta area including Coyame, Cuchillo Parado and El Alamo (Ejido Canon De Barrera). Miguel Barrera was my grandfather who had siblings (Telesfora, Juan, Jose, Melquiades and others). Also my grandmother Fidela Subia (Barrera) and her family Pedro and Anastasia Subia (Jaso). Gracias, Raul

Leave a Reply

