Seaenz

12 Apr

During a visit to my mother in 1985, I found her in an unusually talkative mood. Somewhere in the conversation, eyes twinkling, she told how her grandfather, Hilario Lujan, had kept a mistress in a cave.

What? … I wondered. I thought we were the Indians!

Caves?

Where? …. In El Polvo, across the river in Ojinaga? In Cuchillo Parado?

Frank Lujan was my tour guide during my trips to Ojinaga. Frank stands before the Caves just outside of Redford.

With nothing to go by, who would guess that I would eventually find “La India”?   Well. I did, and how it came about will be told in my book.

What I will relate here is that I discovered the names of two of Hilario and Chona Saenz’s offspring.  They were Ignacio and Concepcion (Chon) Lujan.

Ignacio and Chon worked at the T. O. Ranch in Pilares, Mexico, a ranch owned by the Nelson Morris Cattle Co. of Chicago Illinois.  (T. O. standing for Texas and Old Mexico).   Ignacio’s daughters both married Tarangos.  Their daughter Eloisa married Juan Tarango, and Juanita married Alejandro Tarango.

It sure would be nice to connect to this branch of my extended family.

Prima Elisa

5 Responses to “Seaenz”

  1. Martha Aceves September 30, 2010 at 7:32 PM #

    Going down memory lane with you.

  2. Andrea March 21, 2012 at 2:24 PM #

    We may be related- I am from Tarango line. Would love to hear from you.

  3. Bert Lujan March 30, 2012 at 11:36 AM #

    Prima,

    I enjoyed the write up.

    I will send you an email.

  4. Luis A Tarango June 21, 2013 at 10:38 AM #

    I am from the Teodoro tarango branch, I willl like to hear more about that side of the family.

    Luis A Tarango

  5. Luis A Tarango June 21, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

    My Grandfather was Teodoro Tarango and my father was Ramon Tarango

Leave a Reply

