Sierra Blanca, Texas

18 Apr

My mission to locate descendants of my grandfather’s siblings began in Sierra Blanca, Texas.  Marcos Lujan, the eldest child of Hilario Lujan and Victorina Acosta, had settled there shortly before 1920.

All I found was a house with a sign that read Manuel Lujan. No one was home.

Eventually, I did connect with Manuel and some primos and primas from this branch.  Now living in El Paso, they were the most fun and full of stories about life in Sierra Blanca.  “Papa Marcos”, they told, was a successful entrepreneur there – a master carpenter who helped build the Palace Hotel.  He and his sons built the Catholic church that stands abandoned today.  Manuel and the family purchased the church in order to save it from being razed.

There is a lot of history in Sierra Blanca.  A young General Patton patrolled the area after graduating from West Point.  Cattle, that the infamous Chico Cano stole from cattle baron “Luis Terrazas”, were rounded up in Sierra Blanca’s “Texas and Pacific Stockyards” and taken away by the Love brothers, whom Patton doggedly pursued.

As one travels east on the highway, a cross can be seen on a hill to the left.  My primos told how their father, “Angel”, and Marcos Jr. fashioned the cross out of old railroad ties.  On the day they carried the painted heavy sections up the hill and set it up, there was a great celebration in Sierra Blanca.

At the time I last visited primo Manuel Lujan, he was Commissioner and was fighting plans to dump New York’s waste and sewage in Sierra Blanca.  Sadly, today all one has to do is go online to read about the horrible stench and health problems that abound in and around that quaint, historical little town.

Prima Elisa

8 Responses to “Sierra Blanca, Texas”

  1. Martha Aceves September 30, 2010 at 7:47 PM #

    It is sad to hear how the rich and powerful always conquer over the small and weaker opponents as in this case New York over Sierra Blanca.

  2. yolam August 15, 2011 at 7:44 PM #

    My name is Yolanda Castro, I am daughter of Yolanda Lujan daughter of Marcos and Alejandra lujan….

    • Bert Lujan October 21, 2012 at 12:01 PM #

      Hello Prima,

      I am Bert Lujan, born in Sierra Blanca Tx. Marcos is my great grandfather. Please contact me at kd7jeh@cableone.net

    • Bert Lujan October 21, 2012 at 12:03 PM #

      Yolam,

      Contact me.

      Bert Lujan

  3. johnny sanchez jr September 17, 2013 at 7:04 PM #

    Hello Prima Elisa,
    Manuel Lujan was my Grandfather.

  4. Viola Lujan Sanchez September 23, 2013 at 7:31 PM #

    I am Viola Lujan daughter of Manuel Lujan I grew up in Sierra Blanca right across from the Catholic Church in the picture you posted. My grandfather was Alcadio Lujan.

    • Bert Lujan October 29, 2013 at 5:15 PM #

      Viola, My name is Bert Lujan. You are James sister-Right? I was born in that house in Sierra Blanca. We are planning a family reunion next year and wish you an all the Lujan family could attend. My email is kd7jeh@cableone.net. My facebook address is https://www.facebook.com/bert.lujan . Or anyone can contact me on my cell phone at 208-431-3685.

      • Viola Lujan Sanchez November 1, 2013 at 4:44 PM #

        Hi Bert I would very much like to meet you and attend the family reunion.Yes James is my brother.have you guys meet? I now live in Monahans Texas.where do you live? We just lost my Tia Mere/ Maria Lujan Navarrette which was one of my Dads older sisters she was buried in Sierra Blanca Tx.My email is viola.sanchez21@yahoo .com

Leave a Reply

