Los Rede

22 May

Shafter Fort

Sometime during the early 1800s, Francisco Rede (around age eight) and a five year-old playmate were taken by marauding Indians.  The five year-old was killed, and Francisco was held captive for years. The precocious youngster, who never forgot his Spanish, was not taken along on raids because he could not be trusted.  Indians who raided settlements each September used Spanish speakers to communicate and bargain for livestock with  rancheros.

Finally, when in his early twenties, Francisco was taken along on a raid in Ojinaga.  He escaped into the hands of his fellow “Mexicanos”.  He quickly became the local hero.

Francisco married later Tomasa Onsures.  How or when he came to live north of the Rio Grande is not known.  Francisco was raising goats in the area of the future Shafter mines in Southern Texas when Cattle Baron “Milton Faver” approached him with the following deal:

Faver had exceeded the limitation of land grants given by the State of Texas.  He then convinced Francisco to obtain a grant in his name and pass it on to him.  In return, Faver promised to let him live there for the rest of his life.  Francisco took the offer and named the designated area: “La Plazuela”.  Old Timers still refer to the place as La Plazuela instead of Shafter.

The story goes that it was a goat herder who told Colonel Shafter that there was silver in La Plazuela. Could it have been Francisco?

Francisco and Tomasa’s son, “Navor”, has a son named Eusebio.  Eusebio married Antonia Lujan– first cousin of my grandfather Esteban Lujan.   Antonia, who goes on to be the first Bi-Lingual teacher of the area, is the mother of Lucia “Chita” Rede Madrid  of Private Library fame. (see previous blog article)

All but one of the offspring of Antonia Lujan and Eusebio Rede went into the teaching profession. Well known writer Denise Chavez is the daughter of Delfina Lujan who is one of those teachers.

Interesting Tid-bit:  To his dying day, Francisco climbed to the highest spot in the area, and howled at the moon and the rising sun.

8 Responses to “Los Rede”

  1. Debbie Rede Lopez Pimentel May 23, 2010 at 7:23 AM #

    It gives my Heart such pride to read the history of this family, I can also say that Defina’s first husband was a Faver, grandson of this famous Cattle Rancher. He passed at and early age but had bore a daughter who I believe is still living her name Faride Faver, sister to Denise Chaves. As noted in Denise Chave’s book a Taco Testimony, there are many story’s and photos of the family as well. Thank you so much for sharing all that you have gathered of our families history. I love this and I am so grateful to you for allowing us to share in your joy of Historia de la Familia. God Bless you.

  2. dionysio rede perez May 23, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    pls send all u can

  3. Debbie Rede Lopez Pimentel May 24, 2010 at 5:23 AM #

    Oh just wanted to make a correction Delfina’s father was Eusebio Rede her mother was Maria Antonia Lujan, so Delfina was actually Delfina Rede-Chaves , and Lujan on her mothers side. Delfina Lujan Rede -Chaves.

  4. Victor Barreras June 12, 2010 at 3:44 AM #

    I have been curious for many years in my life since my teenage days about all my family but I never had the knowledge on what or who to ask about it. I was in a house hold with a stepmother as a child from the age of 3 years old with brothers as well. This stepmother was the problem of family separation for many years and because of this separation, I never got to hear stories about our family. Now as an adult of 49 years old, I found my family on face book. I never thought I had so much family in my entire life.

    I the past years, I felt so lost in life and left out of society because of not knowing my family heritage. Now i can stand with pride as I learn deeper about my family heritage. Now I am starting to feel like I am somebody because of my great great great grand father. Thank you grandpa for bringing us together today. I know you heard my cry throughout the years and that you spoke to God above asking for this assignment. I know it’s because of you that we are finally coming together. Thanks Elisa and Debbie for taking this time to share all this with me too. Now I can tell stories to my kids and grand kids. I really would like to visit all those who are still living today, including the ones in their 90’s in Texas. God Bless you!!

  5. Eve Rede June 16, 2011 at 8:22 AM #

    Incredible just incredible! I’m so proud to be a Rede.

  6. Adela Fuerte Magdaleno August 12, 2012 at 11:22 AM #

    Thank you so much for this wonderful story, I’ve read it over and over. Francisco Rede was my GREAT GREAT GRANDFATHER, Tomasita Rede Bustamante his daughter was my GREAT GRANDMOTHER. I appriciate this
    story so much, is their any way that we can see the leter that Paul
    wrote, even if it’s only the part that pertains to this story.
    THANKS
    Adela F M

  7. Christine Rede Villa Barreras-Martinez January 26, 2013 at 4:59 PM #

    I love reading history on my family. Francisco and Alejandra Rede Villa were my grandparents who I didn’t have the privilege of knowing. Now I share this information with my children and grandchildren. Thank you for sharing.

    • Victor L.Villa Barreras January 30, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

      And that makes them my great great grandparents too.

Leave a Reply

