My Tarahumara Primos

8 Jun

When I finally realized my dream of getting to Chihuahua City, a most impressive sight was the Raramuri women.  The yards and yards of their hand-made skirts intrigued me. The array of brilliant reds, yellows blues, and purples swayed as they walked, spelling femininity with each step.  I seized every opportunity to take photos, and among my most cherished ones are an elderly woman, a child, and a couple of shy and giggly teen-agers.

Just yesterday I was telling my Gentleman Scholar:  primo-Enrique Madrid (Redford, Texas) about my treasured photos.

“I took many pictures of Tarahumara beggars”, said I..

Primo Enrique’s gentle admonition was quick.

“The Tarahumaras do not beg”, he said. The custom is called “Korima”. (sharing, a gift) Contrary to “Western Thought”, it is viewed as an obligation for which a heavenly reward is not expected.”

This revelation added to my admiration of a people who refused to be enslaved, a people who took to the hills, survived, and refused to be swallowed up by the conqueror’s “Culture”.

Korima: Tarahumara word meaning “a gift”, “the circle of sharing”.

Leave a Reply

