THE ACOSTAS AND CARNEROS

12 Mar

The Acosta presence in Presidio del Norte (Ojinaga) dates back to the late 1700’s, when Francisco Acosta married Manuela Mendoza.  They gave birth to Jose, who married Ignacia Terrazas in 1801.   They in turn, gave birth to Crisanto Acosta (1804). Crisanto married Juan Julia Carnero (born 1803) on February 12, 1822.  They were my Grandfather Esteban Lujan’s maternal grandparents.

Fifteen of Crisanto and Julia’s children made it to adulthood. Amazing in that the family lived through periods of drought and the resultant hunger.  Epidemics, and Indian attacks reduced the size of many families while their families remained intact. To date, I have found only one of their children (a girl) who expired in her youth.  Today, the Acostas are scattered from coast to coast. No one disputes the fact that they are by far one of the most prolific families in Southwest Texas. They also boast an extraordinary amount of professionals, PhDs and teachers. However! … What about the Carneros?

Thus far I have been unable to document Juana Julia Carnero’s birth.  I do find documents listing her parents as: Luis Carnero and Victar Lujan.  Victar was a sister of Tiburcio—my grandfather’s grandfather: Therefore: she was Esteban Lujan’s grand-aunt.  Were my great-grandparents, Hilario Lujan, and Victoriana Acosta (daughter of Crisanto, and Juana Carnero) cousins?  Ay ay ay!

There were four Carnero males in La Junta in the early 1800’s.  They were: Jose Carnero, a Capitan Carnero, Soldado (Soldier) Julian Carnero, and “Don” Luis Carnero.  For a time, I wondered if Julian could have been Juana’s father. Yet, I find documents listing her father as “Luis”.  Could that be “Don” Luis?

The bottom line:  I would love to hear from Carnero primos out there.

Elisa La Prima

footnote: There are an abundance of Carnero primos that I have not touched bases with.  I would love to hear from you.

4 Responses to “THE ACOSTAS AND CARNEROS”

  1. Julian Carnero December 25, 2011 at 1:44 AM #

    Where are you from my name is julian carnero

    • La Prima Elisa April 20, 2012 at 8:47 PM #

      I live in California-You are the first of Carneros that I hear from. Tell me a little bit about your line.

  2. Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez November 2, 2013 at 7:47 PM #

    I’m sad that you are gone Prima Elisa. I found a marriage record showing Victoriana Acosta’s sister Faustina Acosta also marrying a Hinojoso Lujan. Two sisters marrying cousins! Haha, I cannot imagine that. The marriage record is located at https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/ND6S-B8G if anybody is doing research.

Leave a Reply

