A Hamlet Under Siege – El Polvo

2 Apr

El Polvo: Redford, Texas:

                                                  A Hamlet Under Siege

I first became aware of Redford, Texas when my Grandfather Esteban Lujan entered it as his place of birth in my infant’s Baby Book.  Back then the notion of visiting that little dot on the map seemed very remote indeed.  It would be years before I learned that my ancestors had anything to do with the founding of El Polvo—future Redford.  The story goes that Secundino Lujan (my great grandfather’s brother) was approached by Don Luis Cardiz.  Cardiz was a Texas government representative who invited families to settle across the river on U.S. territory.  Those willing to accept the offer began to clear the land, which they dubbed “El Polvo” (The Dust). Sometime around the mid 1800s they proceeded to build a canal by which to transport water onto their fields.  All went well until they hit a big boulder!   Secundino then made three-day trips to Chihuahua for an ingredient needed to blow up the blockage.  In 1870 the project was completed and Governor Coke gave out 160-acre land grants to the colonizers.  Among them were Lujans,  Acostas, Zosas, and Carrazcos.  Anglo settlers were awarded 350, to 650 acres each.

Redford (El Polvo) boasts a high rate of highly educated professionals, PhDs and teachers that are scattered throughout the state of Texas and beyond, a far cry from the current insinuations that Redford is nothing more than a drug-infested Hamlet.  Today its 100 or so residents   are under the steady vigilance of Drones in search of Drug-Dealers.  The Legal Entry that once transported residents via a canoe from El Mulato across the river to El Polvo is closed.  It was the bridge that kept extended families in touch.

Since 1997, Washington has seen fit to send Marines to patrol the area in search of drug traffic, a move that resulted in the killing of young Eziquiel “Junie” Hernandez, who was doing nothing more than tending to his goat herd.  Yet it totally disregards the result of devastating flooding  that left Redford’s  community in ruins. Today sandy fields lie dormant.  Production that once contributed to the economy of nearby Presidio packing houses is no more. What was once a source of pride, and independence, to my extended family:  Lujans , Acostas , Carneros, Nietos , Zosas, Carrascos, Madrids, and  Redes … to name just a few, is gone!

4 Responses to “A Hamlet Under Siege – El Polvo”

  1. Grace Ramos Garcia September 29, 2012 at 4:55 PM #

    Hello my name is Gracie I just saw your blog last night while at work. Im so excited to read your stories as my family was from Ojinaga. My great grandfather Felipe Ramos the son of Angel Ramos and Alvina Madrid . I would love to talk with you or continue email if you dont mind! I dont know how to look for my ancestors in Mexico!

  2. Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez September 23, 2013 at 12:31 PM #

    Hello, I just wanted to thank you for creating this blog. I know it will prove very useful in connecting the dots and documenting my family history. Acosta, Carnero, Terrazas, Villa, and Lujan all make up my family and they seem to cross paths in Presidio around 1900. Andres De Acosta (born 1748) is my great-grandfather x7. I’m going to start filling in the gaps going 9 generations back and your blog will probably save me lots of time! Thank you for your time and hard work.

    • Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez September 25, 2013 at 8:11 AM #

      Another day of research and Andres de Acosta becomes Pedro de Acosta… Maybe they were related , but anyways, it looks like Pedro de Acosta is actually my great grandfather x7.

  3. joe alvarado April 27, 2014 at 8:11 PM #

    THE ALVARADO FAMILY RESPECTS THIS STORY

Leave a Reply

