Elisa Perez April 29, 1926 – October 20, 2013

21 Oct

Screen shot 2011-06-27 at 11.27.49 AMElisa Perez passed away on October 20th, 2013 after    several months of being ill.  She died at home in La Puente, California with her loving family present.  She will be sorely missed by her family and many friends.

May she Rest in Peace and forever be in our memories.

25 Responses to “Elisa Perez April 29, 1926 – October 20, 2013”

  1. Jan Dawson October 21, 2013 at 2:08 PM #

    I’m so upset about this sad news. She was such a delight to visit with
    and to exchange information on the family. We have lost a real treasure
    to be sure.

    My sympathy, and prayers, to all
    Tu Prima, Jan Dawson

    • Jessica Rede Escalante October 22, 2013 at 9:11 AM #

      Thank you Elisa for all you have done for our family. You well be missed !

      • Jessica Rede Escalante October 29, 2013 at 11:33 AM #

        Just what to say to the family of Elisa she will be missed RIP !!! Elisa I wish we could be with you all today there to say goodbye to her .I will always be grateful to your mom for what she has given me ! With her book I love hearing about are family history ! My dad is Marcos H. Rede, son of Simon Rede, son of Navor Rede

  2. Tina Van Coops & Dick Miller October 21, 2013 at 2:22 PM #

    Rest in Peace, dear cousin. Thank you for all you have given to us, your family.
    Love, Maggie Van Coops, Tina and Dick Miller

  3. Jerry Lujan October 21, 2013 at 2:25 PM #

    October 21, 2013

    Dear Perez Family,

    My heart is heavy with sadness at this moment, and enjoined with yours at our great loss of “La Prima Elisa.” Your sorrow is my sorrow.

    Elisa and I had a very strong bond, which arose for our mutual love of history and our ancestral roots. I remember very vividly the first time I met her at my father’s house (Frank N. Lujan) in Las Cruces in the Spring of 1989, when she, Monti, and Dolly came out here is search of their roots. I gave them their first orientation as to the history of La Junta and some of our immediate ancestors. I then told her to visit Enrique Madrid, another cousin who still lives in Redford (El Polvo), to get a deeper perspective on our historical roots.

    I believe that she made around 15 trips in subsequent years to La Junta and Chihuahua tracing our family. My father took her on about eight of those trips and my brother Paco (Frank Jr.) took her about six or seven times.

    She dug much further than Enrique, my dad and I ever imagined she would do. She found the first Lujan in Chihuahua around 1707, and another one around 1730s. After that, she was able to trace the first Lujan in La Junta. Not only that, but she also dug out the genealogy of the Acostas, who were our Native American Ancestors, and belonged to the Jumano Tribe. You can Google the Jumano Indians and find out more. Also Google The Lady in Blue, (Sor Maria de Jesus de Agreda) because that is a most significant part of our history and heritage).

    All members of the Perez family should feel most proud of the strong FOOTPRINT left by La Prima Elisa. Elisa asked me several times to whom she should leave the treasure trove that was her research. I told her that we have now incorporated the Jumano-Apache Tribe, and that we have been given a tract of land in Redford to build a community center that will be a repository of the writings, folk art and other things of interest to those who have ancestral roots in Redford. We are most interested in having her invaluable work find its resting place there, where her quest began, and to let it become a place where people can go to do their genealogical research. Many of the records that she has, can no longer be found anywhere. Of greater importance is the database of over 20,000 names of persons born in the La Junta area. That collection, to my knowledge is the most comprehensive database of its kind for the La Junta area, whose descendents are now spread out throughout the United States, with many who have a keen interest of knowing where they come from.

    Once again, primos, I join you in your sorrow, but feel honored in having develop that strong bond with your mother. I will miss her so much.

    My Condolences,
    Jerry Lujan

    • Debbie Pimentel July 21, 2014 at 12:14 AM #

      Well said Jerry, I was missing her today thought I would open up her blog, and read this, Love the story you shared with us about our dear prima. Thank you. Debbie Rede Lopez-Pimentel
      ,

  4. Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez October 21, 2013 at 8:38 PM #

    Oh Dear, I am deeply saddened to hear of her passing. I only recently found this blog and it offered great insight into all of the wonderful Acosta family stories I have yet to discover. I was instantly inspired to know that someone, whom may very well be my own Prima, had already uncovered a lifetime worth of great family history. Thinking of you Prima Elisa. May you rest in peace.

  5. Debbie Pimentel Prima Debbie Rede Lopez-Pimentel October 21, 2013 at 11:11 PM #

    I Just can’t believe Our Lord above has called you to his side Elisa, I will miss you my friend, your emails, your helping hand , the stories we would have. I have lost a dear friend in you, and our family has surely lost a greatness. My condolences to your Loving family Elisa, So sorry I did not meet you sooner. She has brought our families together in so many ways, sharing her knowledge and stories, God Bless her, always willing to share what she had spent a life time gathering , The History of Our Family. With out her I never would have been able to bring the many branches of our family tree together, it was her Love for the Family and her work. And we Thank her from the very bottoms of our Hearts for all that she did and all that she brought forth and shared with us. May God Welcome you through those Gates of Gold and set you at his side for a job well done.

    All my Love, tu Prima Deb.

  6. RICHARD MUNIZ October 22, 2013 at 3:35 AM #

    SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS .

  7. Sbc October 22, 2013 at 1:00 PM #

    I’m so sorry to hear of her passing. I believe we are related through Francisco Acosta whose one of his sons Crisanto Acosta was Elisa’s great great grandfather. I hope someone continues her great work. I have a lot of information about the Acosta’s. My great grandfather was Jose Ramos Acosta. He was one of the first settlers in the Big Bend area in West Texas. My email is hija220@sbcglobal.net. I would love to hear from someone. Some of my family members are mentioned in Sotelo’s book, “Ojinaga en una Loma.

    Marta L. Herrera

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Jerry Lujan October 22, 2013 at 10:52 PM #

      I for one am very interested in a more extensive genealogy of the Acostas. Crisanto was my great-great grandfather too, perhaps even one more great. My great grandmother was Matilde Acosta de Lujan, married to Secundino Lujan. I hope we can preserve all of her phenomenal genealogical research in the repository we are trying to establish in el Polvo (Redford) where our roots go very deep, and make her work accessible to all future generations of those who want to know from whom they come from. I know the Acostas were Jumanos, which have a rich story and heritage. Just Google the Jumano Indians, and also the Lady In Blue.

      We are in the process of reconstructing our own history from OUR perspective. All the written material on them comes from Americanos, who assume that we have disappeared as a tribe. Nothing could be further from the truth. We just had to go underground in order to survive the European onslaught. Everyone with these roots is welcome to join us. I can be reached via email: jerry_javier_lujan@hotmail.com or by cell 505-203-7609. Enrique Madrid our Tribal Historian, can be reached in Redford at 432-384-2339.

      Jerry Javier Lujan, Albuquerque, NM

      • Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez November 1, 2013 at 8:28 PM #

        This is great! Crisanto Acosta was my great Great great Great grandfather:) I know my cousin and his father, directly descended Acostas, are planning a trip to Texas soon to revisit my uncle’s birthplace, Marfa, TX, and learn more about the Acostas. They have no idea what they are in for! If anyone would like to share info or stories about family please feel free to email me: LopezVanessa@me.com FYI, this Acosta cousin will be returning from a deployment in Iraq if and when he visits Texas. Any and all Acosta and Villa info will be greatly appreciated!

      • Bert Lujan November 4, 2013 at 3:19 PM #

        Vanessa, Victoriana Acosta was married to Hilario Lujan. She was my great, great grandmother. I don’t know what the connection is but we could be related. Also Ynez De Anda was my great grandmother and her father was Antonio De Anda and her mother was Marcela Aguilar. All from Presidio Texas. I welcome any comments, email or calls.

        Bert Lujan
        kd7jeh@cableone.net
        208-431-3685

      • Vanessa Blanca Ruiz de Lopez November 4, 2013 at 6:27 PM #

        Yes, we are related Bert Lujan:) Victoriana Acosta was the sister of Toribio Acosta. He was my Great great great grandfather. They had a brother named Vidal Acosta who married a Petra Aguilar De Anda. I’m sure the De Andas crossed with Acostas many more times as they seemed to live in a place with a low population. If you are signed up on Ancestry.com then you have access to Mundia.com which thankfully has the never ending Acosta family tree back to 1748. Someone else definitely put in lots of time and effort and I’m so thankful. People like Prima Elisa who came before us left behind lots for us to find! Familysearch.org has great free info on mexican records and I have found some great info there to fill in any gaps. Life Before the Ruins website was great. I want to uncover any treasured photos and stories. I’ve done research on my family history since 2011 and I just started a blog so I can share everything I know. I will post a link when I start adding stuff.

  8. Adela Fuerte Magdaleno October 24, 2013 at 9:53 AM #

    To Elisa’s Familia…This is a GREAT LOSS for everyone who knew her….She will be missed but not forgotten….GOD BLESS ALL OF YOU….

  9. Mary Ehlers October 24, 2013 at 7:39 PM #

    My condolences to the family. I had just recently joined this site and was hoping I would get to “talk” to her through email about my family’s Lujan connection to El Polvo.

  10. Roberto Lujan October 24, 2013 at 8:58 PM #

    Que las almas, benditas por la misericodia de dios, descanse en paz.

  11. Linda October 24, 2013 at 9:35 PM #

    This is for the Perez Family, I am deeply touched by these discoveries that Prima Elisa has made public I would’ve never known if not for her…thank you, my deepest sympathy for your loss….

  12. Familias Montoya, Flotte, Machuca, Carrasco, Garcia, Acosta... October 25, 2013 at 9:28 PM #

    I recently started following Elisa’s blog. As part of my research routine, I visited her blog. Right now, I am sitting here in disbelief and very sad. My condolences to her family and friends. I sincerely regret not reaching out to her and meeting her.

  13. Bert Lujan October 27, 2013 at 9:39 AM #

    Love you Prima. Rest in Peace. She had touched my heart and many others as well. She has contributed to the Genealogies’, historians, and Latinos studies. Because of her knowledge about researching genealogy, she has inspired me to look at my family tree with great respect of what my family had endured and contributed to our country under different crowns, flags and regions. With this treasure of family history I embrace and its part of my identity of whom I am and who we are with great pride.

    To Elisa’s family God Bless you all and your loss is my loss. Love you all.

    I would like to share information about our family. You can contact me at.

    Bert Lujan
    208-431-3685
    kd7jeh@cableone.net
    https://www.facebook.com/bert.lujan

  14. Jerry Lujan October 28, 2013 at 9:16 AM #

    I am posting an email of condolences from Dr. Bob Malouf, Professor Emeritus of Archeology and Anthropology at Sul Ross University. He and Elisa became close friends and swapped much information between them.

    condolences‏

    Robert Mallouf (arch@wildblue.net)

    Add to contacts

    7:44 AM

    To: jerry_javier_lujan@hotmail.com

    Picture of Robert Mallouf

    Dear Jerry,

    I apparently received Andy’s message concerning Elisa’s passing during a period when my computer system was down for replacement. I just found your message, which had been passed through Andy (Dr. Andy Cloud, is the current Director of the Center for Big Bend Studies) . I am very sorry to hear about Elisa. Please accept my condolences and understand that she will always hold a place in our hearts.

    With best wishes to you and your family,

    Bob

  15. Gloria October 28, 2013 at 10:13 AM #

    My deepest sympathy to all the family
    God bless you all.
    Gloria Heredia

  16. Lucille Fierro November 8, 2013 at 11:15 PM #

    i just heard about this, II am so sad to know I lived so close to her and never knew of her. my loss, but I would love to meet my other family members in and around La Puente. I am the daughter of Jesus Rede Villa Fierro, son of Evarista Rede Villa.

  17. desboi February 1, 2014 at 7:49 AM #

    My heartfelt condolences to Elisa’s family. I am so sorry that I missed Elisa’s acquaintance.
    Her work encourages me to continue my personal quest to trace my ancestral branches in Chihuahua, Mexico (Julimes, Ojinaga, Aldama & other places). It also, brings to the forefront her love of family, origin, and history as a blueprint for us to follow. Her generosity in sharing her work sets a high standard for the curiosity, persistence and devotion we must have in fulfilling our calling as family storytellers. I found an Elisa’s blog enthralling, to say the least!

  18. Bert Lujan April 8, 2015 at 4:59 AM #

    We haven’t forgotten you Prima. We our families are stronger together because you brought us together.

Leave a Reply

